Fingerboard HQ
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomePortalConcrete Parking Block Untitl12Rules + New Members FAQLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Concrete Parking Block

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
jacobdonut
FBHQ Regular
FBHQ Regular
jacobdonut

Companies : JWPGFX
Setup : Skowood 33.5mm
Ytrucks x4's
Oak RV2's
Dislocation Bushings
Grand Tape

Concrete Parking Block Empty
PostSubject: Concrete Parking Block   Concrete Parking Block EmptyWed Aug 20, 2014 7:06 pm

Basically I'd like to make something like this. I've literally no idea how to make a mold. I have no experience in making concrete spots at all. :/ Any suggestions? happy

Concrete Parking Block 10543613_652346228206815_4533732870895142972_n
Concrete Parking Block 14927256026_ac5569d939_o
Back to top Go down
http://be.net/jwpgfx
Bakko
Bakko

Companies : Primitive Decks Co.

Concrete Parking Block Empty
PostSubject: Re: Concrete Parking Block   Concrete Parking Block EmptyWed Aug 20, 2014 8:30 pm

As this is small scale there are basicly three ways I would recommend depending on what your resources are..

First prototype a shape with all the right dimentions. I like shaping them by hand out of MDF or styrofoam/fiberglass then sanding and filler primer. If needed I would use a bit of body filler to smooth out potential mistakes between sanding and filler primer build up. But this is only if the shape is giving you a hard time. Now go to step 1 or 2..

1. Then you need to make a silicone mold by boxing in the premade prototyped shape and pouring two part silicone. Wait for it to fully set. Then pour crete in the mold, add a strip of steel mesh and wait for it to cure.

2. Lexan can be used as a mold by heating the lexan and using a vaccum box to shape the lexan to the premade prototyped shape. Then pour crete in the mold, add a strip of steel mesh and wait for it to cure.