HomePortalRules + New Members FAQRegisterLog in

Share | .
 

 Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
DoubleDigits
Every Day FBHQer
Every Day FBHQer
avatar

Posts : 889
Join date : 2015-05-08
Age : 28
Location : Australia, NSW
Setup : Setup #1
[Experimenting]

Setup #2
Brutal 'Nuke' shape
Grand cruiser wheels 8.5 (yellow)
Ytrucks (polished)
Witchcraft bushings (yellow)
Roswell deck rails (yellow)
Dislocation tape

PostSubject: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 1:16 am

Just wondering what everyone's opinions are on 'double flip' variations? Personally, I think they look a bit messy...like, an 'uncontrolled' flip. When I was first learning how to fingerboard (with Jesus and the dinosaurs) flipping your board 'excessively' was an undesired thing...but I have noticed more and more people doing double flip variations.

Please note, I am NOT having a stab at people who like doing double flips...its just down to personal preference and they are not really my 'go to trick'.

Having said that, I do muck around with them from time-to-time...like 360 double flips, vairal double flips, varial heel double flips etc. Would anyone be interested in seeing some of these variations into/out of grinds and manuals? I am kind of in two minds about the whole thing, lol.

- Jono

_________________
Youtube Account
Double Digits (Australian FB Community)
Back to top Go down
Deltron_z
FBHQ Beginner
FBHQ Beginner
avatar

Posts : 52
Join date : 2015-09-17
Age : 23
Location : Spokane WA
Setup : 33mm. Q
ytrucks x4
Cartwheels super wides

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 3:43 am

I like them, nollie and switch double heels are really fun to do.
Back to top Go down
http://youtube.com/taylorfbs
WantSomeSlaw
Trade Moderator
avatar

Posts : 2574
Join date : 2013-05-14
Age : 17
Location : Under your bed.
Setup : What's a fingerboard?

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 3:45 am

@Deltron_z wrote:
I like them, nollie and switch double heels are really fun to do.
they look really ugly imo unless you have great style
When it comes to double flips, they're usually only cool in full lengths (when there are only so many trick variations you can do) or in games of skate when you call it beforehand

_________________
Shit could be worse
http://www.youtube.com/user/WantSomeSlaw
Instagram: wantsomeslawfb
Back to top Go down
Pedro
Blossoming FBHQer
Blossoming FBHQer
avatar

Posts : 334
Join date : 2011-09-01
Age : 20
Location : Portugal
Setup : Flint
Blackriver trucks
Oak wheels Minis


PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 4:06 am

@Deltron_z wrote:
I like them, nollie and switch double heels are really fun to do.
For sure! I do them way too much actually haha
It really depends on how you do them. If you can make it look like you got it under control they look good.
I find some double flip variations easier then single flip too. For example switch tre double flip is easier for me then just the switch tre haha

_________________
Youtube
Instagram
Back to top Go down
DoubleDigits
Every Day FBHQer
Every Day FBHQer
avatar

Posts : 889
Join date : 2015-05-08
Age : 28
Location : Australia, NSW
Setup : Setup #1
[Experimenting]

Setup #2
Brutal 'Nuke' shape
Grand cruiser wheels 8.5 (yellow)
Ytrucks (polished)
Witchcraft bushings (yellow)
Roswell deck rails (yellow)
Dislocation tape

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 4:20 am

Thanks heaps for the feedback guys!

@WantSomeSlaw: damn good point! In a full-length/long part its probably not a bad idea to throw one or two in...might start adding the odd one in my edits in this case happy

- Jono

_________________
Youtube Account
Double Digits (Australian FB Community)
Back to top Go down
Matthew Taylor
FBHQ Regular
FBHQ Regular
avatar

Posts : 542
Join date : 2014-08-14
Age : 16
Location : Cambridge, UK
Setup : Berlinwood, BRTs, WC, Winks, FBS.

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:43 am

Aslong as you are not doing nightmare flips they are cool. Varial flips are not cool, nightmare flips are double not cool.

_________________
Wes W. "I heard if you tickle Simon's nuts he will grant you three wishes, you could go about it that way."

Flop-E "All the kids in my year hate me because I steal all their girlfriends."

[05:14:17 19/04/2016] mattyb : why are all women have penis
Back to top Go down
DoubleDigits
Every Day FBHQer
Every Day FBHQer
avatar

Posts : 889
Join date : 2015-05-08
Age : 28
Location : Australia, NSW
Setup : Setup #1
[Experimenting]

Setup #2
Brutal 'Nuke' shape
Grand cruiser wheels 8.5 (yellow)
Ytrucks (polished)
Witchcraft bushings (yellow)
Roswell deck rails (yellow)
Dislocation tape

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:46 am

ROFL! Why all the hate towards varial flips? I dont love them by any means but I dont hate them either, lol.

Nightmare flip is a double varial flip isn't it?

- Jono

_________________
Youtube Account
Double Digits (Australian FB Community)
Back to top Go down
meekin
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
avatar

Posts : 1512
Join date : 2014-12-09
Age : 22
Location : SC

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 1:37 pm

i think variel flips are fun but they are hating on by the skating community

_________________
@HSK wrote:
Whats ffi lol ?

@JRizzle wrote:
Jheeze I think I would have creamed my pants if that stuff was out when I was like 12/13!

@Jaymes wrote:
I don't want none of that homemade hack job with welds that look like a monkey did it
Back to top Go down
skatemaster231
Constant FBHQer
Constant FBHQer
avatar

Posts : 1333
Join date : 2013-04-22
Age : 17
Location : Illinois
Setup : D͐̏̋̐ͣ̐͊́͂̈́ͨ̏̋ͥ̆͑ͧ͘͜҉̺̙̹̞̗͚̤̻̫̼̳͖͔̩̤̘͇o̚­­̱̰̳̟̟̞̜̖̬̌ͦ͌͂ͦ̎̅ͫ̑͂ͦͩ́̚͢ ̴̮͍̲̖̖̤̯͎͎͋̈́ͫ̂̊̇ͤ̆̓̌ͫ̐ͣͣ̆ͬ͌̚͡y̆ͪͫ̉ͭ̅ͫ͊ͩ́­­̨̛̬̠̰̙̫̮̪̟͈̯̘͎̗́̀o̶̶̘̝͇̜̝͓̞͉̰̫͚ͣ̽̄̀ͅu͗̊­̏­̷̡͙̜̳̠͈͕̹͑̿͌̓̇̽͂̄͋ͯ͂̍ͣ̂̓̀͘̕ ̣̳̭̝̻̣̤̫̣̠̦̙̦̲ͣ͂̃ͦ̑ͦ̃͂ͣ̓̇͒̈͘͠t͒̎ͯ͐͂͛̏̈ͦ̐­­̴̼̖̫̞͔̺ͧͭ̅͊̾ͣ͒́̚̚͘̕h̬̖̙͙̰͖̺͛̾̐̃ͦͪ̏ͧ͌̓͘̕­͙­̟į̶̻͖̠̟͔̟̦̝̜̞̄̇̏̂ͨ̋͂̕͟͝nͨ͌͊̓̆̾͛̏ͬ̑̎̾̚­ͭͮ­̵̌ͫͩ҉̶̵̰̫̩̲͕̱̗͚͇̰ͅk͙̳̳͓̟̝̠̯̝̔ͧͤͩ̾̀͢͢͠­͙̻͙­̻̱̼͖ͅ ͥͫ͒ͧ̏ͯͮ̓ͬͯ̾̽̈̀ͥ́̀͘͠҉͈̩͍͔̲͖͔ț̶̛̛̅͌̋ͬ͌̄͜͞­­͎̜̜̰͙̰̝̝̦̪̜h̸̥͎̰̤̼̱̝̜̭̹͆̾̈̓̌ͮ̎̅̄̅͋̋̔̿̚̕­͖­̱̗̗̪̫̻i̡̩̬̰̹̩͓̩̣̱̗̹͑ͧ̾̿̂̚͟͡ͅs̐ͤͭ̐ͫ͋ͮ́҉­̢͏­̳̦̠͕̠͈̣͕̫͔̫͖͖̹̗̟͢ ̴̠͓̺̩̩̙̬̬͈̼̭̰͖̱̺̣̗̫̉͂ͪ̔̍̀ͫ̀̎̏̔ͯ̌̒̒ͩͧ́i͛͋­­̸̄̂͊͋͗͑͏͙̙͈̦͎̥̰̕s͂̍̑ͫ́̇͌̑̿̒ͦ̓̊͛̚̚̚҉́̕͞͡­̞­̟̣̻̲̜̫̺͉̠̬̥̙̜̪̭ ̧̖͔͕̹ͧ̐ͦ̎̊ͧ̽ͨͦ̒͐̀͞͡ͅaͦͦ̅̐͐ͥ͂̓̋͒̔̄ͣͤ͂͂͆͊ͬ­­̨̛͈̞̪̖͓̣̫̰̠̤̖̠͉̪͔͟ ̡̛̱̦̗̫̯̻͓̭ͦ͒̐̒̆̇̉̀p̡ͤͮ͛ͫ͋̽̄̎̑͑̈̉̒͛̎͋̿ͮ̓͠­­͏͚̮̖͖̫̦͙͎̭̜͇̺̻̩̹̕r̴̵̡̟͖̫̝̘̜̝͇̙̦̍̆̃́ͦ̚͘͢­̝­̪̞o̷̧͔̪͙͓͔͓̞̘̺̟͇̳͎̦̩̣̻̩ͮ̅͊̉̽̄̍̋͐ͥ̓́͐̚͢­͓b­̡̥̞̳̙̠̞̘͉̼̤̘̝ͨͣ͌ͥͤ̍̓ͩ́̈́ͨ̅̓ͧ̅͢lͭ̿͂͛̄͐̈­͗̑̓­ͭ͆̉͋ͩ̿̋̇͡͡͞҉͔̼̻̣̝̜̭̖͕̙͈͓̖ͅeͣ̂ͭͤ͑̏ͬͨ̓­҉̨̖͞­̼̹͉̹͈ͅm̛͛ͦ̾̉̋́̊͐͐̂̐̎̄ͯͤ̚҉̡̻̳̤̥̪͎̹͜ͅ­͔͉̝͍̫­͖̺͓̬͙?̥̣̼͇̟̰̙͉̜̌̊̔ͬ̔̊ͩ̍̂̐̂͐̌̋ͩͩ͛́͡­̦̟̥̬̩͕


PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 5:36 pm

Who cares how many fucking times your board flips in the air. As long as you land it it's a 10,000 point trick in my book so you can add it to your huge 800x multiplier combo.

_________________
[20:44:34] WantSomeSlaw : Damn it Sean.
[18:52:42] @ Ryan : sean turns into joe pesci when he's hungry
[22:50:28] HSK : kids be like woooooo!!! Gettho grip nek minute RIPPP! awwww snap I rekt it lmao

REFS: http://www.fingerboardhq.net/t18187-references-for-skatemaster231#280057
Back to top Go down
DoubleDigits
Every Day FBHQer
Every Day FBHQer
avatar

Posts : 889
Join date : 2015-05-08
Age : 28
Location : Australia, NSW
Setup : Setup #1
[Experimenting]

Setup #2
Brutal 'Nuke' shape
Grand cruiser wheels 8.5 (yellow)
Ytrucks (polished)
Witchcraft bushings (yellow)
Roswell deck rails (yellow)
Dislocation tape

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 11:31 pm

@skatemaster231 wrote:
As long as you land it it's a 10,000 point trick in my book so you can add it to your huge 800x multiplier combo.
I love you

- Jono

_________________
Youtube Account
Double Digits (Australian FB Community)
Back to top Go down
eddie Victory
FBHQ Regular
FBHQ Regular
avatar

Posts : 542
Join date : 2012-11-30
Age : 31
Location : birmingham UK

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Sat Oct 31, 2015 11:35 pm

[quote="skatemaster231"]Who cares how many fucking times your board flips in the air. As long as you land it it's a 10,000 point trick in my book so you can add it to your huge 800x multiplier combo.[/quote

hahahaha very happy

i think it can look a bit over the top in vids

but its a lot of fun if your just messing about and enjoying fingerboarding
Back to top Go down
Estevan Rivera
Blossoming FBHQer
Blossoming FBHQer
avatar

Posts : 211
Join date : 2015-01-18
Age : 27
Location : Port Richey, FL
Companies : NPR Crete
Setup : Homewood Mid Shape
BRT 32mm
Joycult Wheels
Level Up "Beta Bushings"
FBS Tape

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Tue Nov 03, 2015 3:17 am

unless it comes out really clean I tend to think it was just an accident when i see them in videos, I do like doing sw double flip tres like shane o'neil though lol

_________________
www.nprcrete.bigcartel.com
Youtube: www.youtube.com/user/estevan
Instagram: @simplejak19 / @nprcrete
Back to top Go down
JessM
Supporter
Supporter
avatar

Posts : 1267
Join date : 2013-06-07
Age : 21
Location : Jersey
Setup : honeycomb, g6a's, fbs, td wides

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Tue Nov 03, 2015 3:33 am

I invented the double hard flip back tail

_________________
https://www.youtube.com/user/Manhoagie
http://honeycombfbs.bigcartel.com

[21:11:45] @ JessM : fine i'll just take a nap on the megaramp



@Robert wrote:
@JessM wrote:
Not even a birtHday thread fOr the god himseLf... DisappointEd iN you all.



You think you're so fucking clever, don't you
Back to top Go down
http://youtube.com/Manhoagie
tretrip
FBHQ Beginner
FBHQ Beginner
avatar

Posts : 39
Join date : 2015-10-31
Location : Vermont
Setup : DK 32
BRT
Cartwheels
FBS

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:38 am

As long as you keep your hand over the board, they usually come out really clean, at least for me. Nollie double flips are definitely my favorite double.
Back to top Go down
Redemption
Blossoming FBHQer
Blossoming FBHQer
avatar

Posts : 243
Join date : 2011-04-02
Age : 28
Location : Michigan, USA
Companies : Redemption Fingerboards

PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:53 pm

I feel the same @double digits. I prefer clean single flips. Sometimes doubles are fun but they can look excessive lol

_________________
www.redemptionfb.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Redemption-Fingerboards/300145980023259
Back to top Go down
http://www.redemptionfb.com
parrish
FBHQ Regular
FBHQ Regular
avatar

Posts : 496
Join date : 2013-11-15
Location : southern vermont.
Setup : FBS
woob square kicks
BRT wides
green witchcrafts
oaks white+



PostSubject: Re: Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?   Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:27 pm

@JessM wrote:
I invented the double hard flip back tail
damn this is super confusing cause if it does the second flip after the front shove than the second flip is kinda a heelflip shocked Shane O'neill switch double tre'd Santa Monica triple so its cool now haha. Anyway in fingerboarding I think they are sick if you can do them the exact way/super similar to how you do a single, but if you can tell the extra effort put into the flick it definitely takes away from the flow of things. I think my last edit had a double backside flip I took out cause I thought it looked sketchy. That being said, I do pull every double flip variation possible in a heavy game of skate, they keep it super interesting haha.

_________________

“We cannot reason ourselves out of our basic irrationality. All we can do is learn the art of being irrational in a reasonable way.”

― Aldous Huxley, from Island
Back to top Go down
 

Opinions on 'Double Flip' Variations?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Fingerboard HQ :: Fingerboarding Discussion :: Fingerboarding Discussion & News-