HomePortalCartwheels bearing wheels preview Untitl12Rules + New Members FAQRegisterLog in

Share
 

 Cartwheels bearing wheels preview

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Xi
Council
Council
Xi

Posts : 2656
Join date : 2011-02-12
Location : Beijing, China
Setup : Tech Deck Series 8 Krooked Scratch & Reveal

Blosom 32mm deck, Ytrucks X4, Cartwheels Urethane, FBS Tape

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 3:03 pm

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Dbf0d9503a6b383d91b988dc5c5c4689
Bearing wheels preview
by Xi Jin

About me and these wheels
I have been fingerboarding for about 11 years on and off although my involvement with the online scene is limited. As of this moment writing this review, I am sponsored by Close Up only with no affiliation to any other company. I hope you trust that this is an unbiased review as I intend it to be. These wheels should be the 11th type of fingerboard bearing wheels that I have owned, not including multiples of the same model. I have been skating these wheels as part of a setup for roughly 2½ weeks. The setup I have mainly been testing the wheels with is comprised of a Pure 26mm deck, Wangster tape, self-shaped China regular trucks and the Cartwheels. I also briefly set the wheels up on a BW setup too mainly to match colours for the pictures. I have tested these wheels indoors only. This is my seventh fingerboard product review (preview in this case) and I hope it is sufficient in detail and interesting to read. I personally prefer text-based reviews as opposed to video reviews as the reader can choose to read it at their own pace instead of being forced to follow the speed of the reviewer and who can often trail-off topic.


I apologise for the cameraphone pictures which do not focus on such small wheels very well.

Konata holds the setup
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview LwjIU

Company Profile
Cartwheels is a new British wheel company masterminded by the Dark Lord, Simon Cartledge. I personally suggested the name and it is so awesome that he is using it. Simon has been experimenting with many different prototype wheels with different cores and sizes. Including Simon and myself, there are 2 other fingerboarders who are testing these wheels for feedback and improvement. As Simon is a friend and an awesome guy, I will be previewing a set. I love that he is further increasing the UK's status in the worldwide fingerboard scene and I hope it may achieve and surpass Arctic's status one day.

There is currently no website for Cartwheels he has accounts on FBHQ, FFI and YouTube which I shall note at the bottom of this preview.

Transaction Details
Price: Free for doing this preview
Shipping cost: n/a
Time to arrive from Leicester UK to Leeds UK: 1 day shocked

Packaging
The wheels came in a little baggie as standard for most wheels. However, I am told the final packaging is much more professional with the wheels being packed in a matchbox with custom graphics on it. Everything was in a larger bubble mailer envelope to ensure they arrived in great condition. Also included was a special tool made from a metal tube (Simon calls this the Polecart ;D). This tool is included with all sets of wheels as standard TD, Close Up or BR tools won't work. The Polecart should work with all kinds of different hardware though.

More setup pictures
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview OHP4u

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview LIyJR

Craftsmanship
I don't know much about making wheels but I was very pleasantly surprised at how nice the wheels were. The first thing I noticed was that these wheels were much smaller than most wheels, they are softer but the most interesting thing is the metal core on the inside of the wheel, inspired by the design of Ricta skateboard wheels. The craftsmanship is pretty great as the wheels roll really smooth and the cores all look pretty nice. Initially, I did not think the bearings rolled very well but after about a week of wearing them in, they were fine. I know that Simon isn't responsible for the bearings but just be patient and wear them in. They are backless, single bearing wheels which is actually my preference. The core and bearing in each wheel are perfectly in line with the front/back of the wheel. I should also note that the wheels I received are still test versions and I imagine final versions could be even better.

Wheel front
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview OxFjT

Wheel back
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Yz2RC

Comparison of sizes between Cartwheels and No Comply Roll9s
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview XkKiK

Comparison 2
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview S8XHS

As you can see here, the wheels are much smaller than the general wheel sizes.

Compatibility with trucks
I apologise but I have not tested the wheels with every major truck brand but I can confirm that they work great with China regular or wide trucks and Close Up G4 trucks (with the hangers for bearing wheels).

All blue setup: BW BR blue camo, Close Up G4 trucks, Cartwheels
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview IwWft


Performance
I've tried a small variety of wheels now and these wheels are great. In the modern fingerboard wheel market, I see a lot of wheels that are almost the same, conforming to a generic style of wheel. The wheels I really love not only have to perform great but should also bring something new with them. Examples of wheels with great features are Close Up & Oak with urethane grip/printed wheels, Substance with transparency, Winklers with screeching sounds and Flatface with ceramic bearings. What you have with Cartwheels are a softer smoother ride with the Nylon material, a different size of wheel, aesthetically pleasing metal cores, a nice blue colour and backless bearing design. These wheels are softer than every other wheel I have tried, not including Close Up or Oak urethane wheels. At the same time, I find reverts relatively easy and fun. I have no problem doing any tricks I normally do with these wheels and the size of the wheels make all those tricks more fun.

As someone in the UK, buying wheels from other countries could be very expensive so if you live in the UK, you could do worse than saving some cash and supporting a local company. If you like smaller bearing wheels, definitely try them.

You'll be glad to hear that's the end of another long ass review.

I must mention that this preview is just what I think about the wheels. Reading/watching multiple reviews by different people is definitely recommended. Since this is a preview, you will have to go on what I said, wait for another review or find someone who has them and try them out.

How to buy them
As this is a new company being developed, I do not have all the details for purchasing some. I believe the wheels should be priced at £15 (equivalent to €17.21 or $23.48). I also don't know if this includes domestic or international shipping. I have received information from Simon that we are in the final stages of testing. After the 3rd tester of the wheels has given feedback on the wheels, production of the first batch of wheels will commence.

As for where to contact the owner, PM Simon: "cartledge" on FBHQ, "scartledge" on FFI or "scartledgefb" on YouTube.

Looks like a damn skateboard
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview AF6Sw

You may use this preview and pictures, in part or in full, as long as you credit it to me and get permission from me in a PM.

Miaow.

_________________
-Xi
My YouTube | 'dontmongo' on FFI | @bubbleflip on Instagram

"I've progressed so much as a fingerboarder because I learned to stop comparing fingerboarding to skateboarding." —Gary Chin
Back to top Go down
Rdcruzer
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
Rdcruzer

Posts : 4147
Join date : 2009-11-06
Location : london, england
Companies : fingerboarding :D
Setup : FL Fingerboard <3 <3
Mellow Yellow BRTs
FlatFace BRT edition wheels
FL tape <3 <3 <3

BW Pornstorm
Ytrucks
Oak wheels

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 3:13 pm

Brilliant review!
They look nice, really want some blue wheels happy
Back to top Go down
https://www.youtube.com/users/Rdcruzer
WillD
FBHQ Regular
FBHQ Regular
WillD

Posts : 420
Join date : 2010-10-08
Age : 28
Location : Essex, UK
Setup : Berlinwood
YTrucks X3
Winkler Wheels BRR
FBS

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 3:34 pm

They look so nice, I personally love smaller wheels. The cores also add something very special.

Great preview Xi, best reviewer on the scene!

Keep up the great work Simon, can't wait to buy a set!

_________________
Youtube
Back to top Go down
Dom-Mattocks
Constant FBHQer
Constant FBHQer


Posts : 1316
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 23
Location : Staffordshire, UK

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 3:59 pm

@WillD wrote:
Great preview Xi, best reviewer on the scene!

this, the wheels look amazing as well
Back to top Go down
Caspertimmermans.
FBHQ Beginner
FBHQ Beginner
Caspertimmermans.

Posts : 79
Join date : 2011-09-13
Age : 23
Location : Netherlands.
Companies : Fingerboarding,Playng guitar,Filming,Traveling
Setup : ScrewDeck
Nolliewheels
Chrome trucks.
FBS.

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 4:02 pm

Thanks really nedded this Preview.

_________________
Caspertimmermans. wrote:

i hate school...... waste of time.....

My English is Crap!

kerryDeth wrote:

Haha you don't see a correlation there? XD
Back to top Go down
Masonflawless
Blossoming FBHQer
Blossoming FBHQer


Posts : 237
Join date : 2010-11-28
Companies : Flawless fingerboards
Setup : Berlinwood new mold brr trucks and winkler wheels. Berlinwood radio lennie graphic td wide trucks flat face g6o wheels. Berlinwood old mold regular td trucks flat face g6brandonroberts

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 5:31 pm

Nice might pick some up
Back to top Go down
Finn S
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
Finn S

Posts : 4338
Join date : 2010-07-11
Age : 22
Location : Ramsgate-Kent
Setup : Blosom 30.5
Winks
Brts
Rip

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 5:46 pm

your setup looks so OG hahah looks like something you would see in like 2008 nice review man
Back to top Go down
chiller123
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
chiller123

Posts : 1555
Join date : 2011-05-21
Age : 21
Location : brighton, uk

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 6:20 pm

they look so knarly, do they feel any similar to oaks?
Back to top Go down
Thom McInally
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
Thom McInally

Posts : 1762
Join date : 2010-08-11
Age : 27
Location : Manchester, UK
Companies : Amprsnds
Setup : Yellowood Z3
YTrucks X4
Oak RV
FBS Extra Smooth

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 7:01 pm

Nah, they don't feel anything like Oaks, haha
Back to top Go down
https://facebook.com/mcinally
stevenfilms
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
stevenfilms

Posts : 1508
Join date : 2010-08-02
Age : 21
Location : USA
Companies : Filming, skating, and fingerboarding
Setup : Redemption MMC, wide tuned trucks, china non-bearing wheels , Incredibly Smooth & Grippy tape

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 7:41 pm

^You must be another tester haha
These look really nice, I had no idea Simon even made wheels tongue

_________________
@Danny H wrote:
this explains how blosom gets all the ladies.

cartledge wrote:
Simon, 21 from leicester said, "Yeh, im not much into the whole fingerboarding thing but you can't tell me there's a better sight than a young child using his fingers in a very, very, talented way."
They'd have me on the sex offenders list by the 26th.

YOU BIG STINKY POO POO HEAD.
A.K.A. Xi's favorite phrase
Back to top Go down
Noel
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
Noel

Posts : 3703
Join date : 2010-10-22
Age : 22
Location : North London
Companies : Flatface my ass

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 7:44 pm

same i never knew he made wheels.

_________________
chiller123 wrote:
I knew only one person would create this thread, The almighty melvin!



Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Element-468x60


Click this.
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Fingerboardhq
Back to top Go down
Billy Mackean
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
Billy Mackean

Posts : 2343
Join date : 2011-02-07
Age : 23
Location : England
Setup : Blosom graphic 32.5
BRT wides
G5 BRR EDs
Rip

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 8:37 pm

nah nothing like oaks.. haha

but sick review happy

_________________
My YouTube
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Blosom3Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Tie_co10
Back to top Go down
Jack L
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
Jack L

Posts : 4121
Join date : 2010-02-18
Age : 22

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 9:08 pm

might buy some if i ever get spare money ahah =] nice review, they look sickk =]

_________________
youtube.com/njl632
Back to top Go down
willhopewell
Constant FBHQer
Constant FBHQer


Posts : 1446
Join date : 2009-08-12
Age : 25
Location : Mansfield,UK
Setup : Berlinwood
BRT's
Winker's

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyWed Sep 28, 2011 9:42 pm

look nice but ive just been looking for big wheels lately

_________________


FBHQ's 11th ever member haha
Back to top Go down
Daniel.H
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
Daniel.H

Posts : 1510
Join date : 2011-01-06
Age : 24
Location : England, Stoke-on-Trent

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyThu Sep 29, 2011 9:00 pm

Beautiful, defo got to pick up a pair when they come out.

_________________
Quote :
Blosom: all this young boys and jizz.......im considering quitting making fingerboards....its not good for my rep
Back to top Go down
Robert
Constant FBHQer
Constant FBHQer
Robert

Posts : 1222
Join date : 2011-05-08
Age : 26
Location : jupiter
Setup : 卐卐卐

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyThu Sep 29, 2011 9:13 pm

They're tiny! They look pretty awesome though, remind me of Eurollts.

_________________
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Ufup1
YouTube
Back to top Go down
Matt Matysek
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
Matt Matysek

Posts : 1717
Join date : 2010-05-06
Age : 23
Location : Texas

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyThu Sep 29, 2011 9:14 pm

So sick. Good review Xi very happy

_________________
Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Kerrydeep
Back to top Go down
avrilsk8terfan012
FBHQ Beginner
FBHQ Beginner
avrilsk8terfan012

Posts : 32
Join date : 2011-09-25
Age : 23
Location : United Kingdom
Companies : Fingerboarding for life!!

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyThu Sep 29, 2011 9:19 pm

Very nice wheels plus a great review!!!!!
I will definitely buy a set!

_________________
My YouTube pig
Back to top Go down
https://www.youtube.com/user/avrilsk8terfan012
Labrador_FB
Blossoming FBHQer
Blossoming FBHQer
Labrador_FB

Posts : 320
Join date : 2011-02-24
Age : 23
Location : USA
Companies : Labrador Fingerboards

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyThu Sep 29, 2011 9:38 pm

They look sick- creative concept, too. I may pick up some as I need some new wheels happy
Back to top Go down
FatSkater37
FBHQ Beginner
FBHQ Beginner


Posts : 3
Join date : 2011-09-29

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyThu Sep 29, 2011 10:34 pm

they look exactly like Rictas! <3
Back to top Go down
Xi
Council
Council
Xi

Posts : 2656
Join date : 2011-02-12
Location : Beijing, China
Setup : Tech Deck Series 8 Krooked Scratch & Reveal

Blosom 32mm deck, Ytrucks X4, Cartwheels Urethane, FBS Tape

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyFri Sep 30, 2011 12:19 am

Goldmidget wrote:
Beautiful, defo got to pick up a pair when they come out.

Don't buy a pair. Buy a whole set.

_________________
-Xi
My YouTube | 'dontmongo' on FFI | @bubbleflip on Instagram

"I've progressed so much as a fingerboarder because I learned to stop comparing fingerboarding to skateboarding." —Gary Chin
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest
Anonymous


Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyFri Sep 30, 2011 4:57 am

Thankyou so much for this great preview Xi!

I want to try and bring the wheels out asap.

Everyone can expect a big announcement when they're ready to rumble!
Back to top Go down
Xi
Council
Council
Xi

Posts : 2656
Join date : 2011-02-12
Location : Beijing, China
Setup : Tech Deck Series 8 Krooked Scratch & Reveal

Blosom 32mm deck, Ytrucks X4, Cartwheels Urethane, FBS Tape

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyFri Sep 30, 2011 6:26 am

cartledge wrote:
Thankyou so much for this great preview Xi!

I want to try and bring the wheels out asap.

Everyone can expect a big announcement when they're ready to rumble!

No problem at all, Simon.

_________________
-Xi
My YouTube | 'dontmongo' on FFI | @bubbleflip on Instagram

"I've progressed so much as a fingerboarder because I learned to stop comparing fingerboarding to skateboarding." —Gary Chin
Back to top Go down
Danny H
Admin
Admin
Danny H

Posts : 10434
Join date : 2009-07-13
Age : 23
Location : Leeds
Setup : Blosom Split Ply
TNP Tape
Y-Trucks X4
Cartwheels

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyFri Sep 30, 2011 7:26 am

definately getting some wink what colours is there? shocked
always loved small wheels happy
Back to top Go down
http://www.pornhub.com
Flippedoutfb
Blossoming FBHQer
Blossoming FBHQer
Flippedoutfb

Posts : 190
Join date : 2011-02-26
Age : 37
Location : Mountain Home, Arkansas
Companies : FingerPrintRamps.
Setup : 32mm yellowwood wasp deck,Ytruck32mm x4 ed whitecolor with oak acid green wheels.derik j handmade 32mm deck with brr32mm trucks ff brr edition wheels.30mm,Yellowood dl headset graphic,blackriver trucks,FF G7O dual wheels.THose are my main 3 sets at the moment.

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview EmptyFri Sep 30, 2011 2:12 pm

Nice review once again xi,and the wheels look amazing. They remind me of what my skateboard setup looked like way back in 1996 small wheels and fast flips,haha.Hope when they come out you will be shipping to usa as well.They look really good Simon.Hope to c em out soon;}
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cartwheels bearing wheels preview   Cartwheels bearing wheels preview Empty

Back to top Go down
 

Cartwheels bearing wheels preview

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Fingerboard HQ :: Fingerboarding Discussion :: Fingerboarding Reviews-