Fingerboard HQ
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomePortalWhat does Deck shape actually do? Untitl12Rules + New Members FAQLatest imagesRegisterLog in

What does Deck shape actually do?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
FlatBenny
FBHQ Beginner
FBHQ Beginner
FlatBenny

Companies : coffee roasting and FB
Setup : lowpro
brt 2.0
winkler brr ed

What does Deck shape actually do? Empty
PostSubject: What does Deck shape actually do?   What does Deck shape actually do? EmptyMon Dec 19, 2011 9:57 pm

I'm pretty new to finger boarding and currently ride a prowood extreme which is a shorter deck at 96mm. however im not convinced i have found the shape that suits me quite yet.

I know width is kind of a spin control factor
Length is again i feel a spin/flip factor

But what about concave,dips and kicks how do they all effect the performance. OR are they just to make it look realistic and cool???

I notice that BW are making flat series decks and now 32mm wide decks. and also lowpro are making a deck with no concave. Are flat decks the way forward?

Thanks Benny.
Back to top Go down
TomasM
FBHQ Regular
FBHQ Regular
TomasM

PostSubject: Re: What does Deck shape actually do?   What does Deck shape actually do? EmptyMon Dec 19, 2011 10:15 pm

It's all about the rider's preference. Some like 30mm+ width decks, and others like a smaller sized deck. Some like high kicks, some like mellow kicks. It all comes down to what shape you feel comfortable with at the end of the day.
Back to top Go down
TylerE
Every Day FBHQer
Every Day FBHQer
TylerE

Setup : BW
2.0 BRT <3
FF G6D
FBS extra smoof
TKY

PostSubject: Re: What does Deck shape actually do?   What does Deck shape actually do? EmptyMon Dec 19, 2011 10:32 pm