Fingerboard HQ
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomePortalDying Veneers Untitl12Rules + New Members FAQLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Dying Veneers

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
neztek
FBHQ Regular
FBHQ Regular
neztek

Companies : Neztek Fingerboards Australia
Setup : NeztekFB 33.25mm. Deck
Y-Trucks X4 Tex Black
Winklers
Creamy Goo

Dying Veneers Empty
PostSubject: Dying Veneers   Dying Veneers EmptySat Mar 09, 2013 1:35 am

I went into an art shop a couple of days ago and explained to the guy that I needed to stain veneers.I also showed him 1 of my first decks which I brought in a make it yourself pack.He mucked around with some different products and paints and then gave me a bottle of Tannin Sealer(for free) and told me to mix it with Acrylic paints and that will do the job.As I have never done this before I went woohoo and came home to color a sheet of veneer.He also told me that it would soak through thin veneers,but 2 days later and only 1 side of the veneer is the color that I wanted.I am starting to think that he didn't quite understand what I wanted to do.So I was thinking that fabric dye might be a good way to stain wood,or is there a better way to get the colors that I want?
Nez.
Back to top Go down
http://neztekfb.bigcartel.com
Daloof
Part of the Furniture
Part of the Furniture
Daloof

Companies : O.G. Decks
Setup : Tech deck flip with super slippy fome tape
Freestyle fb super whels
Hot rod fb trucks wit my bushin I made

Dying Veneers Empty
PostSubject: Re: Dying Veneers   Dying Veneers EmptySat Mar 09, 2013 1:38 am

Good ol' rubbing alcohol and food coloring does the job for me.
Back to top Go down
neztek
FBHQ Regular
FBHQ Regular
neztek

Y-Trucks X4 Tex Black
Winklers
Creamy Goo

Dying Veneers Empty
PostSubject: Re: Dying Veneers   Dying Veneers EmptySat Mar 09, 2013 1:55 am

GunnerBoser wrote:

That's exactly the type of advice I am looking for,Cheers dude.